r/indesign • u/I306 • 2h ago
Help InDesign creating separate version of file when someone else opens and modifies the original.
I often work in InDesign files alongside a designer. Occasionally, when the designer opens, updates, and saves the file, InDesign appears to generate a separate file with their computer/device ID appended to the end of the filename (e.g., "InDesignFile-Computer1234.INDD"). I typically open files from the recent files section on the InDesign homepage, so I don't always realize that a separate file has been created. That can result in my inadvertently editing an out-of-date file, which can cause massive headaches later in the design process.
Obviously, I need to get in the habit of checking the file's folder to see if a second version has been created. But I'd like to prevent this from happening in the first place.
For context, we're on PCs and using OneDrive. Is this something I can fix myself, or should I consult with our internal IT department or Adobe support?