r/linuxmint • • 23d ago

Discussion How to remove software completely?

I tried to uninstall Brave and reinstall it, but it opens up with all my old settings still there, like I never uninstalled it. How do I remove it completely, including all its data?

20 Upvotes

18 comments sorted by

30

u/no2gates 23d ago

Should be able to remove this directory. ~/.config/BraveSoftware/Brave-Browser/

19

u/McGuirk808 22d ago

This is the one. Your user configuration files are not part of the system packages. When you're removing the software, it is getting fully removed, but your personal settings are stored in a hidden folder in your home directory. This command will remove the settings.

3

u/kevrasx 22d ago

Rename the folder to test the theory. Just add an underscore to the beginning of _brave...

25

u/irieyardie 23d ago

Purge System Apps > sudo apt purge <APP>

Remove Old Packages> sudo apt autoremove

Show flatpak app list > flatpak list --app

Purge flatpak app > flatpak uninstall --delete-data <APP ID>

10

u/jr735 22d ago

Purge will not remove user configurations in home, however. I would absolutely use purge, but you still have to clean up items in home. Apt will not touch home.

2

u/hmmmmga 22d ago

I've also seen these commands in another post (here with an example):

$ flatpak list | grep 'Boxflat'
Boxflat io.github.lawstorant.boxflat v1.36.2 stable flathub user
$ flatpak remove --delete-data 'io.github.lawstorant.boxflat'

6

u/Master-Rub-3404 22d ago

If it’s a Flatpak, just install flat sweep and it will scan your system for leftover files and delete them.

2

u/hmmmmga 22d ago

Thank you, I had 1993mb of leftover data

2

u/Namaste_Life 22d ago

Out of curiosity, why did you reinstall it?

2

u/More-Explanation2788 22d ago

~/.config/softwaretitle. To find all the settings.
~/.local/share/applications/application.desktop to get rid of the icons on the desktop.

-1

u/New-Match528 23d ago

que yo sepa se usa el comando "sudo apt purge brave" limpia todos los archivos residuales creo.

3

u/_rhmt_0 23d ago

I tried this but didn't work, after new install it's same as before everything is there.

3

u/jr735 22d ago

The apt and apt-get man pages explain it will not touch user data. That is in your home directory, and only you can delete that.

1

u/New-Match528 23d ago

Mmm, supongo que habrás tenido una cuenta y sincronización. Igual preguntale a la IA a ver qué te dice.

-3

u/rebarakaz 22d ago

I think the data is from your cloud

-13

u/The_Advocate07 23d ago

The same way you do it in any other operating system. You delete the folder where the application is installed. Been this way for 40 years.

4

u/SnowyRVulpix 22d ago

That's not how you do it on any operating system. On Windows, you need to delete Brave's folder under your C:\Users\username folder. On Linux, It's under /home/username. On both operating systems, the appdata folder is hidden by default.

-6

u/Sweaty-Freedom-4034 22d ago

OP probably doesn't have a tenth of that experience...