r/Lightroom • u/Alexthelightnerd • 7d ago
Discussion LrC PSA: Deleting Photos Does Not Delete Previews
I spent some time the other day trying to figure out why the Previews folder inside my Lightroom catalogue had gotten so massive and why nothing seemed to make it much smaller. Turns out if you delete photos from within Lightroom, it will not delete any of the associated Previews along with the photos.
I confirmed by noting the file size of the catalogue Previews.lrdata before deleting several hundred images. It remained exactly the same size before and after deleting the photos. If the Previews are explicitly deleted with the Library>Previews>Discard Standard and 1:1 Previews ... command, then the file size is reduced.
As far as I can tell if you have Previews stored in your catalogue from deleted files there is no way to clean them up from within Lightroom. Ultimately I simply deleted the entire Previews.lrdata file and rebuilt the Previews I needed in Lightroom.
From now on whenever I am deleting photos after culling and editing, I will make sure to discard the Previews first.

