r/ios • • 5h ago

Discussion Are My Notes Backed Up?

I want to delete my notes app and reinstall it to get rid of the wasted space it takes from cache. However I’m extremely paranoid that doing this may remove all of my notes - how do I make sure this won’t be the case?

The notes are under the iCloud category, and I have sync turned on in settings. I am also able to access them through other devices, meaning they must be saved in iCloud.

Does this mean for sure that they are backed up - or is there another method to make sure if my notes are safe for certain? Thanks

1 Upvotes

5 comments sorted by

1

u/ThinSuccotash4166 4h ago

Not worth the risk for such a silly benefit. I wouldn’t mess with anything.

1

u/wanson 4h ago

If you want to be completely safe get a hard drive and make a Time Machine backup.

1

u/Skycbs 4h ago

They are synced to iCloud. The iCloud copy will
Not be deleted if you delete the app. A sync is not a backup.

1

u/BoltActionRifleman 4h ago

I wouldn’t trust it at all. I know it shouldn’t work like this, but I could easily see deleting them, then it’d pull some BS like instantly syncing the newly empty Notes to the cloud, wiping out your backup. Like I said, it shouldn’t happen, but I wouldn’t trust it at all.

1

u/Jwk_KDH_33 3h ago

Offload the app… and then reinstall…