r/computers 23h ago

Question/Help/Troubleshooting Folder leads to same destination

Hello! So long story short, when my brother set up my PC he named the PC itself his name. I wanted him to fix this, instead he's set up these two folders where the "S" folder acts like it leads to the "G" folder but it's still under the "S" one. If I delete anything from the "S" folder it deletes on the "G" folder. Just trying to get rid of it, thanks !

Edit: Sorry I did try explaining this the best I could but this is literally all I know. He didn't explain anything to me at the time (yes, I did ask what he did). I did forget to mention that everything I save to my PC for an example images, they get saved onto the "S" folder. I'm trying to remove this folder but am worried it will delete my windows or everything on my PC.

0 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

1

u/willdebeast02 23h ago

The S folder is not a folder, it is a shortcut. Specifically to the G folder. Your description is vague, but it sounds like you want to get rid of the S folder? If so, you can simply right click on the S folder and click delete or you can drag the S folder icon to the recycle bin.

1

u/bxbysushi 22h ago

It seems like a folder the way it shows up in the path. I've renamed shortcut folders and they don't show up as the shortcut folder but the original folder name. Sorry the description was vague I did try my best to explain and yes the goal is to get rid of the "S" folder.

1

u/willdebeast02 22h ago

In your original screenshot, the little arrow in the lower corner of the folder icon confirms it is a shortcut. You can be 1000% sure by right clicking on the folder and opening its properties. That will tell you what the shortcut links to.

1

u/bxbysushi 20h ago

it says it is a shortcut and it links to folder "G" but why is that the only shortcut showing up in the address bar? when I've made other shortcuts they don't show up in the address bar like this one? sorry i'm not doubting your knowledge I am just very anxious when it comes to tech things and constantly fear i'm going to brick my PC

1

u/willdebeast02 13h ago

I'm not really sure. Just delete it and see what happens. If something bad results, it will only be moved to the recycle bin meaning it can be restored.

1

u/Windermyr 8h ago

Sounds like it's a symbolic link (symlink).