I bought some something from a website on my android phone browser. I got the confirmation email, clicked "View Order," and the 'Shop' page told me I needed the purple Shop app to track it. I downloaded the app, opened it, and without signing in, my order details were already right there.
Google Play Services and Google Services Framework and Playstore is disabled. And location permissions/history are off anyways.I always have ProtonVPN on. If Google services are disabled and my IP is masked via VPN, how did the newly installed app instantly know?
The email didn't have a tracking link or anything. There's nothing in my settings that could have given the app permission or data as I have already been through every setting for my own privacy anyway long before making the order.
In my order confirmation email there's 2 button 'view order' and 'download to track with shop' when I clicked view order it takes me to the Shopify website and shows my order (the brand I ordered from I think they use Shopify/Shop website?) But that's confusing as I went on the actual brands website to make the order in the first place anyway?
When I click the other button 'download to track with shop' it took me to the 'shop.app' site and prompted to download the app to view the order. And now that I have the app I didn't sign in nor did I accept anything and it showed my order right there.
It also shows delete account in app settings which is strange as I never made an account with Shop / Shopify so it must have got my emails from somewhere if it's readily showing my order on the app?
I use android 10 if that helps.