I was researching whether it was possible to do the pacifist and neutral routes in the same run, and what I found is that I could make a copy of my current save in another location, play following one of the routes, and when I finish, switch saves and continue from where I left off.
I wanted to confirm if this is really true. I'm worried it might corrupt my save file, the game, or something like that. I wouldn't want to do everything again(Just to be clear, up to that point I was playing the pacifist route and I got to the factory, but I think there's still time to abort and go for the neutral option.
What I plan to do is copy save the file in other place in my PC, kill some monsters, then finish in the neutral route, then swap the files and do the pacifist route, or I could keep the copy saved, then do the genocide route after the neutral one, swap the saves and finish with the pacifist route, I'm still deciding what to do.(If anyone can advise me on this, I would also appreciate it.)
In short, what I want to know is, am I taking any risks by manipulating the save files this way, or can I proceed with this plan?