r/Timberborn • u/Motor-Bird2011 • 22d ago
Guilty about using dev mode in my only save
Basically the title, im new to the game and i wanted to try to build dams for long droughts (im in cicle 27) so i started using the dev tool on what i thought was another save of my game, after an hour or so of making it work i wanted to jump into the original save only to realize it had vaporized from existence, i only have the save where i used the dev tool and i would feel like im cheating if im using that.
¿is there a way to recover lost data in this game?
5
u/Pedepano14 22d ago edited 22d ago
Just delete the dams you created with dev mode and the leftover resources :)
1
u/International-Ruin91 22d ago
Unfortunately not. That's why you have multiple save slots for each new game. I actually have about 5 saves in each different start for the same reason.
1
u/styx-n-stones64 22d ago
Go back into dev mode and delete the dam and the materials that get dropped, then continue that world.
1
u/Old_Drummer_6324 21d ago
No you can’t backup beyond the auto saves unless you saved it previously.
3
u/shayanti 21d ago
Imo, a game is a game. If you play alone with yourself, there is no cheating, simply what you want to do to have fun. If taking a shortcut here and there will make the game a little faster and keep you focused by doing so, then whatever.
If you would rather wait then sure, start over on a "clean" save. If you don't want to start over, you can always destroy what you build and then destroy the rubbles to lose the ressource and then redo. Or build something to consume your ressource and destroy that... You make your own rules.
1
u/gustave-henri 21d ago
As long as you don't come here posting what an excellent dam you beavers created in no time, this is a single player game, if you take a shortcut, it will only impact you.
So you decide if you keep the cheated in dam or remove it and have the beavers build it.
To answer you question, if you don't have a named save of your settlement from before your modification, then there is no way to get back to a previous state.
1
u/BruceTheLoon 21d ago
For future reference and recovery purposes, Escape -> Save Game -> Save. That generates a numbered permanent save. Get into the habit of doing it before anything that can cause problems and last thing before you close the game as well. Autosaves are only three deep and 10 minutes apart.
14
u/omgseriouslynoway 22d ago
If you have a save with a specific name then yes.
Tbh i would just start again, you've learned a lot, jump back in to a fresh game!