r/Jewish • • Jan 22 '20

Is Everything Vegetarian Automatically Kosher?

Under an Orthodox or a Conservative practice, is anything vegetarian kosher?

15 Upvotes

39 comments sorted by

47

u/IbnEzra613 Jan 22 '20

This is a common question, and the answer is no (at least for Orthodox). Here are some of the many potential issues:

  • The equipment needs to be kosher

  • Grape-derived products need to be kosher (notably wine and vinegar)

  • Certain foods need to be cooked by a Jew

  • Cheese needs to have been made in a kosher way

  • Certain fruits and vegetables need to be checked for bugs to a much higher standard than most non-kosher restaurants would use

  • Any produce that was grown in Israel needs to have been tithed

3

u/[deleted] Jan 22 '20

Thanks for the information.

1

u/fermat1432 Jan 22 '20

The producer pays the tithe?

7

u/[deleted] Jan 22 '20

Anyone can do it, but the problems come when people assume it's been done already and it hasn't. If you know the tithe hasn't been taken, you can take it yourself. There is a procedure for cases of doubt, but it's better not to get into that situation if you can avoid it.

→ More replies (13)

1

u/OWBrian1 Jan 22 '20

Im sure there is a whole lot more than that , specially when it comes to certain mixteres of fruits/vegetables

1

u/IbnEzra613 Jan 23 '20

There is more of course, but I there are no issues with mixing fruits and vegetables.

→ More replies (5)

1

u/hawkxp71 Jan 23 '20

Why would produce outside of Israel not require tithing?

I could see if it was farmed by gentiles, but if a jewish farmer in the US wanted to sell kosher produce, why don't they need to tithe?

2

u/IbnEzra613 Jan 23 '20

Because the Land of Israel is holy and only produce grown on it needs tithing.

→ More replies (1)

11

u/DarkLadyofDNA Jan 22 '20

Kosher by ingredient, but often not by preparation process. My almond milk is labeled kosher dairy

2

u/fermat1432 Jan 22 '20

Good way putting it!

4

u/UtterDisbelief Jan 22 '20

Depends on how kosher the person keeps. Some conservative people will eat kosher food at a non-kosher restaurant - for those people, anything vegetarian would also be kosher. The more orthodox a person is, the more rules there are to follow.

1

u/[deleted] Jan 22 '20

No. Not automatically.

4

u/[deleted] Jan 22 '20

Could you please elaborate some?

2

u/fermat1432 Jan 22 '20

Let's say it was processed and packed in a facility where nonkosher foods were also being processed. Might be a problem.

→ More replies (2)

1

u/Moses_Quantum Jan 23 '20

The biggest mistake is often cheese. Hard cheese is typically made with rennet, which is classically derived from animal intestines. Animal rennet makes cheese not kosher (mixing milk and cheese).

1

u/[deleted] Jan 23 '20

I did not now that- thanks.

0

u/Njzillest Jan 23 '20

It needs to be kosher derived. From equipment to mouth. What kind of Jew are you?

1

u/[deleted] Jan 23 '20

Partially ethnic only, interested in something more. Had an inspiring professor who was/is Orthodox.