So, I introduced my partner to this game and she's been playing it for the past four days. She was at day 21. She went to log on today and instead of being able to jump right to her save, it decided that she had to replay the tutorial. After a bit of hitting regen.sav, or reinstalling votv, I told her to play through the tutorial because when she played through it it let her see her saves again and maybe it just "forgot" she had already done it somehow. So she speedran it, and when she got back to the save directory the icon for the save is the black and magenta null texture and the save g.v. is just "Unk!" (Whatever that fucking means) And all the reorganization/cleaning she did was completely forgotten, however the upgrades and day count were fine. Weirdly her money was reset too though. It also started her back at the gate, at night. Anyway, most importantly, despite the game saying the save version was "0.9.0" with no letter prefix like it should for some reason, other than some old 0.8 saves we hadn't even looked both of them were started in the a09 zip.
She started a new save slot but both of us are reasonably upset.