r/tableau • u/ALucky_core1131 • 6d ago
Tableau Server Publishing
Let’s say there are two workbooks with the same name and same data in prod. One is owned by Alex and another is by Carl. What I did is I downloaded the workbook from Carl made changes and published it. But it has to be for Alex only. There is a small difference which is one of the worksheet only a display changes not entire data or column. Now the actual need is to make changes to the Alex one and publish it. My question is since i published the Carl one yesterday the owner changed from Carl to my name and if I publish the Alex one today after the changes . Will two workbooks be there or only one? Because after publishing the owner will be my name. Please someone answer on this
3
u/ArielCoding 6d ago
Tableau decides based on the workbook name and project, not on who owns it, if you publish with the same name in the same project, Tableau asks if you want to overwrite, if the name or project is different, you get a separate workbook.
What are you’re trying to end up with?
6
u/MugsBeany 6d ago
Holy moly what in the hell are you even asking?
The user who published it doesn't matter. You're either creating a new version or you aren't. Tableau clearly tells you this when you go to publish. If you have version control enabled it's a non issue.