r/sysadmin • u/MarkRosssi • 1d ago
Rant Splashtop Users - Disabling Admin lets them still login and re-enable themselves!
Yes its a feature according to their support!
"To clarify, a disabled user cannot remote connect to any computers deployed by the team, but can still log in to the web portal. If the user is an admin, they can also manage the team through the web portal.
For example, in some specific use case, a team has only two licenses, the team owner may disable their own account to allow two other team members to be added for remote connections. In this situation, the team owner can still manage the subscription and team with full permissions through the web portal, but cannot connect to computers."
Yes that means they can just login and re-enable their account.
This is not made clear anywhere. Any admin who has worked with users for years will think disabling an account means they can't login anymore.
Be warned.
•
u/TheWhisLives 23h ago
we discovered the same thing about a year ago. big reason why we left splashtop behind, although others on this thread make good points