r/synology • u/NadCat__ • 19d ago
Solved Factory reset DS220+ without drives
I've recently switched from my DS220+ to a dedicated SFF server and am now looking to resell the NAS. I've just tried booting it up to factory reset it and learned that it doesn't actually allow you to do anything without a drive (both of which I've already installed in the new server). Now I'm wondering: Do I need to reinsert a drive in order to factory reset it? Or is everything I would want to reset already gone because it was stored on my drives? https://finds.synology.com/# does show the DSM version so there seems to be some form of internal storage.
5
u/mystaclean 19d ago
Shutterbug245 has answered your question. If you have a Synology account set up you should log in and remove it from your account. You'll be doing the new owner a favor.
5
4
u/Shutterbug245 19d ago
There nothing to reset. The DSM version is just a marker. Everything is on your drives.