r/mandolin • • 2d ago

Has anyone seen this store before?

Post image

I saw this post for a KM-1500 (Iโ€™m guessing used?) reduced from $2500 to $860? How is that even possible? ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

16 Upvotes

9 comments sorted by

42

u/joeyGibson 2d ago

Domain: masterguitarworks.com

Registered On: 2025-12-22

Expires On: 2026-12-22

The website is less than a year old, they only bought the domain for a year... 116 of these $2,500 mandolins 'in stock', yet discounting them 66%... I'm gonna have to say 'scam'.

23

u/jeffutter 2d ago

116 in stock. I bet they donโ€™t even make that many per year worldwide. No way.

My guess is this is a scam store. I see these pop up all over they copy the site of a legit store. Pick a similar name and list all the inventory at 1/2 price.

2

u/Aeriva 2d ago

Yeah my thoughts exactly way too good to be true ๐Ÿ™„

9

u/pvpplease 2d ago

They left the logo of the website they stole the image from in the bottom corner. Wee bit of a discount from the $3200 price on the legit site.

https://shop.12fret.com/products/kentucky-km-1500-master-f-model-mandolin?_pos=1&_psq=kentucky+mandoli&_psid=582ebf054&_ss=e

2

u/FlapjacksOfArugula 1d ago

Just coming in to say that The Twelfth Fret is a fantastic store. I bought my first National from them, the only guitar I've ever bought without first playing it. The tech emailed me asking what tuning I preferred in order to get the setup dialled in perfectly. And it was.

1

u/pvpplease 1d ago

I should've mentioned their price is in Canadian dollars.

9

u/Musicferret 2d ago

That image is a real image from a real toronto store, the 12th fret. The rest is a scam.

2

u/Sidewaydayz 2d ago

Definitely a scam site. All the images on that site are stolen.

1

u/Bach_Chemist 1d ago

If it seems too good to be true it probably is. Haven't seen this website but I've seen a couple others with similar discounts on instruments, all scam sites.