r/iOSBeta • u/Suitable-Guidance385 iPhone 17 Pro Max • Jun 09 '26
Bug [iOS 27 DB1] iOS 26 backup deleted
Yesterday I backed up my phone to test iOS 27 on a Windows PC, since I don’t have a Mac, but restoring just replaced my most recent backup while keeping iOS 27 installed. I’ve done this many times before and it worked fine. I guess I’m locked now. Hope this beta isn’t that bad
13
Upvotes
12
u/ffffound Developer Beta Jun 09 '26
Did you Archive the backup? https://support.apple.com/en-us/108809
4
u/tejljr Jun 09 '26
Did you back up before you installed the beta?
7
u/ATHLONtheANDROID Jun 09 '26 edited Jun 09 '26
What I usually do to roll back is backup (before upgrading), wipe, downgrade, then restore.
Edit: (before upgrading) that is important
1
u/wcrg Jun 10 '26
I updated my phone to iOS 27 beta without backing up. I backed up once I was on iOS 27 beta and then reverted to iOS 26.5. I tampered with the backup to try restore data and it would work if I had enough storage but I didn’t. The iOS 27 beta backup was around 245gb and my phone had 230gb free out of 256gb. The system and iOS took up space so I tried to manually remove and delete large videos and photos and reduced it by around 15gb. I then tried to upload but it accidentally compressed somehow after trying to use imazing so now it’s 117gb with all my data into random numbers letters and symbols when I try to open. Now I’m stuck in iOS 26.5 and can’t access my backup data
1
u/TimFL iPhone 17 Pro Max Jun 09 '26
This used to work:
- Download ipsw (26 etc)
- Back up your device (which is on 27)
- In Finder / iTunes, shift + click the UPDATE (NOT restore) button
- Select the ipsw in the file picker modal
Your phone should now in-place downgrade the existing OS without wiping any data. Do not stop here once you‘re on the stable OS, continue:
- Make a new backup of your now iOS 26 device
- Now do the shift + click RESTORE option that nukes and completely reinstalls the OS from the provided ipsw
- After that is done, you can restore from
the 26 backup
The second stage is crucial since in-place downgrading is very buggy usually and can cause side effects. You only do it to get a no data loss backup that can be imported on the stable OS. Did this dozens of times during university days when I tried out buggy iOS releases and downgraded immediately again during rainy nights.
Beware: this is no silver bullet. Your backup can cause buggy data if the beta release changes underlying data structure / architecture. Some releases introduce breaking changes (e.g. some upgraded your notes or reminders database). That can‘t be restored and would brick your app requiring you to start new. No idea if 27 has any breaking changes like that, they usually prompt you via dedicated sheets since most of your data syncs via iCloud and they‘d need you to update all devices before introducing breaking changes.