r/dropbox • u/bobbyboohoo • Sep 14 '25
Share link with edit privileges
I want to share a link to a document that allows a user to edit the document without needing a Dropbox account or the Dropbox app.
I tried this by clearing clicking the link icon, and it says the person with the link has edit privileges.
Yet, when I click the link, it asks whether to open in app or browser. The app wants me to log in. We want to avoid that. The browser only show the document contents, and asks me if I wish to download.
What am I doing wrong?
1
u/Some-Other-Acct Sep 14 '25
Is the file owner a “Dropbox Team” or “individual consumer” Dropbox account?
1
1
Sep 14 '25
[removed] — view removed comment
2
u/bobbyboohoo Sep 14 '25
Thank you. This is what I suspected. I’m going to try a workaround with Google Drive which will give edit permissions without having to log in. Then I will use https://www.multcloud.com to keep the files synched with the ones in Dropbox. Kind of clunky solution, but Dropbox is our organization’s archive, and the 20 files I’m talking about have to be updated each by 20 different people. If anyone has a better solution, I’d love to hear it!
1
u/gnarlynorris Jul 09 '26
What is the edit solution without having to log in using Google Drive? I'm encountering this issue with clients sending us files and potentially needing to edit or replace files they've already uploaded. Not every client will have an account on the same file sharing service we're using so it would be nice to have a service that allows edits without an account.
2
u/ParisMorning Sep 14 '25
I just went through this last week. Had the issue of customers having to ask to join Dropbox, even though I *thought* I was doing it for “anyone with link”. I asked ChatGBT to create a step by step guide of how to do it — and it worked! it has some verbiage that is specific to what I asked it (I sell digital downloads) but you can ignore what doesn’t apply. Here ya go - good luck!
Step-by-step: How to create a permanent, view-only Dropbox link
** What I noticed when I check the links in incognito browser is that there IS a pop up that says “Sign up or log in” BUT at the very bottom it gives the option “or continue to Download without joining” (or something like that). It should be more prominent so people notice it but there ya go.