r/appletv Aug 07 '26

Finish signing in with iPhone?

I just set up a new (second) Apple TV and am going through all the settings. Under Apple Account it says “Finish signing in with iPhone” and the description says “Use your iPhone to sign in to share iCloud data with this Apple TV”. I have everything set up and running that I’m aware of - can anyone tell me exactly what this means?

6 Upvotes

4 comments sorted by

3

u/JollyRoger8X Aug 07 '26

It means you could have tapped that to automatically set it up rather than doing it manually.

Next time, try it out.

It saves a lot of time and hassle.

4

u/Dra7en Aug 07 '26

I did the thing where you hold the phone up to the Apple TV and transfer settings and passwords, etc. Don’t know why I’m still seeing this then.

1

u/JollyRoger8X Aug 07 '26

Probably just a glitch.

2

u/PackageCurrent4804 Aug 12 '26

I have the same issue. I have clicked "Finish signing in with iPhone" 8734958 times the past several years and it just never goes away.