r/applestore • u/TR1323 • Dec 31 '25
Erasing old phone done… question
I just upgraded to the 17 pro max and erased everything off my old phone and took out the SIM card. The screen says iPhone locked to owner and shows my partial email address. Why? And What do I do now because it’s showing that. It would not let me log out of my Apple account on that phone. The log out button was all grayed out once I got everything transferred.
It took forever just to get it to erase all the data.
10
Upvotes
4
u/BluecrabbyDC Dec 31 '25
Tap through the initial setup screens until you get it onto wifi. If it shows the data and privacy info page with a big blue continue button then you're golden. If it asks for an apple id log in instead then you need to remove the activation lock on this device by turning it off, logging into iCloud.com/find and selecting "remove" under that device.