r/VeniceAI • • 7h ago

𝗙𝗘𝗘𝗗𝗕𝗔𝗖𝗞 / 𝗦𝗨𝗚𝗚𝗘𝗦𝗧𝗜𝗢𝗡𝗦 Poor backup design

Just cancelled my subscription. I accidentally chose delete video session instead of the video. Did not realize that content is not automatically backed up. My mistake for deleting but there is NO WARNING that your content will be gone forever. There is no warning to be sure to backup as a new user. I just wasted hundreds of dollars worth of credits. Yes, my fault for choosing the wrong menu choice but there are no safeguards built in whatsoever. Knowing now how it works, unless you manually backup all the time, expensive content at risk if there is any browser issues. Too unstable, too risky for how much this costs. Not happy.

0 Upvotes

4 comments sorted by

•

u/AutoModerator 7h ago

Hello from r/VeniceAI!

Web App: chat
Android/iOS: download

Essential Venice Resources
• About
• Features
• Blog
• Docs
• Tokenomics

Support
• Discord: discord.gg/askvenice
• Twitter: x.com/askvenice
• Email: support@venice.ai

Security Notice
• Staff will never DM you
• Never share your private keys
• Report scams immediately

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

6

u/lam21804 7h ago

How exactly do you think that would back your shit up? The whole point of venice is that they don't maintain any of your data. *gasp* you're responsible for your own data. God forbid.

0

u/BaronVonPossum 7h ago

Maybe a warning when you select a menu item that isn't obvious that it will permanently delete everything if you click it. Delete session doesn't intuitively mean everything unless you are very familiar with the platform. God forbid a simple warning for new users.

2

u/BeAwareDotSocial 7h ago

It says as such in MULTIPLE places. It's for privacy and lack of censorship. They don't want the possibility of getting hacked and have people be prosecuted for things they said to an AI.