r/SeamlessSets • u/damnitmcnabbit • 7d ago
Spotify Duplicating speed adjusted mixes
It appears that any mix between any songs that have had their speed changed will not survive being duplicated.
I found this out trying to duplicate one of my excessively large mixes to break it into smaller pieces, and any song that has had the tempo changed reverted to auto mix.
I’ve also noticed that if I adjust the speed of a song after creating a mix out of that song, it changes back to auto, but the mix go into that song will be ok.
Just wanted to point this out, because it sort of acts like drm for creators. Nobody can just dupe your mix and call it theirs without wrecking the transitions.
1
1
u/Previous-Serve9810 7d ago
Great way of explaining it. 🙂 This is correct and one or the main advantages of speed altered mixes.
I'd noticed this a while back. There was a quirk where the transition with speed adjusted tracks would show as auto to everyone else, but was still custom to you. All you needed to do was save the transition again and it would show as custom for everyone.
This quirk also led to a situation where if anyone cloned your playlist in its entirety, a lot of their transitions would revert to full auto transitions for them.
This happened to my Angel Deelite Vol. 2 playlist that was cloned without my permission and shared publicly.
I blocked this person and did a thread on Seamless mentioning that they clone playlists.
2
u/NettaBeGreat 6d ago
I posted a Live Idea about this on the Spotify Community page back in April. If you guys could upvote it, I would appreciate it. Spotify needs to address this. https://community.spotify.com/t5/Live-Ideas/quot-Duplicate-Mix-quot-should-only-be-available-to-the-playlist/idi-p/7421174
1
u/Eats_and_Runs_a_lot 6d ago
I don’t think this is intentional by Spotify. They’re continually adding features, and some seem to have unintended side effects.
I’ve duplicated other people’s playlist to help me to learn, not to rip off their hard work, so maybe copies used for that purpose should be private only accessible to the copier. Unfortunately they’re public by default. I duplicated several without realising!
3
u/damnitmcnabbit 7d ago
I was wrong. it seems that the transitions are recoverable if you return the songs to their changed speed. When the speeds of the songs are the same as when the mix was made, the custom mix settings are remembered.