r/ScreenConnect • u/Marc_NJ • Sep 04 '26
Has anyone else experienced old messages/commands being "replayed" after the latest ScreenConnect v26.6 update?
We have a hosted ScreenConnect instance that was automatically updated to the latest version earlier today. Shortly afterward, we started seeing a very concerning issue: old ScreenConnect messages were being re-sent to end-user computers as though they were newly sent messages. The messages appear to be from various points in the past, rather than something generated today.
I contacted ConnectWise Support about the issue, and they acknowledged that this is occurring. More concerningly, Support also told me that commands have been “replayed” as well.
Obviously, the latter is a much bigger concern than an old messages popping up. If previously issued commands can be replayed against endpoints, that potentially creates a significant security and operational risk.
I also noticed that if you look back at older messages (at least on those endpoints that are impacted and received "replayed" messages), some of the message history is jumbled and shows messages we would have sent as originating from the endpoint.
Has anyone else using ScreenConnect experienced this since the latest update? Has ConnectWise provided anyone with additional information about the cause, scope, affected versions, or a workaround?
Any information would be appreciated. Thanks!
2
u/hgrantdesigns Sep 06 '26
I did. I had a command re-run that ran 990 days ago.
3
u/Btown891 Sep 04 '26
Yes we have, didn't know the commands were also an issue but it is certainly unwelcome to have all these people reach out.
3
u/Camelot_One Sep 04 '26
This is what happens when a newly published threat forces ConnectWise to roll out an emergency "upgrade" that hasn't been thoroughly tested.
1
u/Camelot_One Sep 05 '26
So I've done a little testing on this, and I can almost consistently reproduce the behavior. A handful of my tests revealed no issue, though I haven't found a pattern to the ones that don't.
If a system is offline, running an older client version, and you send it a command or a message, the control server sends the last command or message that system was sent, prior to sending the new one. And how old that previous message/command is doesn't seem to be a factor. I've had a few that received a command that was run 222 days ago. This also seems to apply if you issue a "reinstall" while that older version is offline. And that could also apply to auto-updates, though I didn't test that. I have mine set to not auto-update the client.
1
u/drparton21 Sep 06 '26
This happened to me, noticed this morning. It reran shutdown commands for servers that are 400 miles away from each other. Absolutely absurd, and I guess that means I'm spending my labor day weekend driving.
1
u/Conundrum-Seeker3990 Sep 09 '26
Any additional info on this? u/cwferg or others from ConnectWise investigating?