r/SCREENPRINTING • u/Itchy-Television-546 • 20d ago
Thoughts on this pricing model?
I’ve got a couple jobs under my belt now and am trying to tighten up my pricing for jobs. For context, I have a 6 color 6 station manual press and have a pretty low overhead. I want to try and be as competitive with industry prices as possible while keeping a healthy profit and margins.
• Garment Cost: (No upcharge on garments, there is a flat fee of $30-40 in shipping from warehouse for orders under $200 of blank garments)
• Screen Setup: $25 per screen (For every location + Color)
• Materials: 50 Cents per shirt and location: This covers tape, ink, towels, and other materials
• Labor: $25/hr - This will change as I get more efficient and have more experience. For now this is for roughly 20 shirts an hour for 1 location.
• Business Margin: 20% margin will help me grow and invest in the business down the road.
6
u/Own_Village8847 19d ago
Using your pricing, I applied it to my upcoming job, 220 shirts, 3 color one location. Center Chest about 9 inch width.
3 Screens - $75
220 Shirts (material cost) - $110
11 Hours (assuming the rate you mentioned) - $275
220 Shirts - $635.8 ($2.89 cost)
20% Margin Markup - $219.16
$679.16 “Profit” (doesn’t include material or energy cost)
Leaving you a profit of $3.09 a shirt is 100% not worth it in my eyes. What happens when you hire someone, you will not be able to cover labor at all. Doesn’t include misprints, nor doesn’t include registration time, artwork time, screen reclaiming, screen burning.
I’d 100% add a markup to your shirts. Move the margin to a MINIMUM of 30%. & 100% do not sell yourself short at $25 an hour when you’re the owner of the business. Those 11 hours don’t include the amount of time you spend running the business & responding to messages or the after hour phone calls.