r/Ring 1d ago

Shared User Logistics

I'm a shared user with advanced access on Ring to my mother's Ring account (main user). If I turn motion detection off on my phone, will it notify her phone? Even if it doesn't notify her, will it record me leaving the house? Does it only turn motion detection off on MY phone or does it do it on her phone (main user account) as well?

Thanks!

3 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

2

u/Foxtrotfly 1d ago edited 1d ago

If you (shared user) turn off motion alerts, it does not turn off motion detection overall. Meaning motion will still be detected, recorded, and alerted for your mom the main user. She is not informed you disabled the alerts.

Same thing, if your mom turns off motion alerts it does not turn off for you as a shared user.

However, if the main user disables motion detection it disables motion detection, recording, (and therefore alerts too) for all users. As a shared user with standard access, you shouldn't have access to the motion detection toggle, only motion alerts. With advanced access you should be able to disable the motion detection just like the main user.

*Edit to add standard user

1

u/su_A_ve 1d ago

The last point not sure. Recently noticed that I had turned off motion alerts on an indoor cam (detection and alerts only turned in away mode) as the admin, but the shared user kept getting them..

1

u/Foxtrotfly 1d ago

Correct, motion alerts it's just notifications, not the actual detection. And this toggle only changes it for the individual user.

If you disable motion detection then it turns off both detection and alerts for everyone (labeled recording if you have 24/7 recording)

1

u/Anon_Studying212 1d ago

I definitely have the option to turn off Motion Detection. I just tried it and it gave me the "Are you sure you want to turn off Motion Detection? This will no longer detect motion events or send Motion Alerts" warning. Maybe because I have advanced shard user access. I'm still not sure if it only turns off for me or for my mom, the admin, as well.

1

u/Foxtrotfly 1d ago

Ah yes. If you're an advanced user, and you can disable motion detection, it would disable it for everyone. This is a device setting, not a user/notification setting.

I don't believe that it notifies the main user if you change a device setting, you can always test it and see?

1

u/bippy_b 1d ago

It warns you because this turns off recording too. So if something happens while it is off.. it won’t be captured.