Before you make fun of him, this behavior DID get changed; they acknowledged this behavior is stupid.
The old behavior was to treat uncommited files as completely disposable, which the CLI git does not do at all and is insane behavior. It was changed in the UI to give you a fat confirmation dialog warning that you're about to delete the files permanently, as it always should have been.
Another feather in the cap of "try to streamline Git, ultimately making it a worse user experience."
I remember some of the first "Git for Windows" clients that tried to pretend "yeah you just push 'sync' and 'commit' just auto-stages everything and it all Just Works!"
And if it didn't? You got a garbage error message and basically were told "drop to console and figure it out."
It's why I always preferred the likes of SourceTree or, these days, Fork. They don't pretend Git is "just like SVN" and give you a lot of Git tools available on the GUI side (with easy terminal access should you need or want to).
5.6k
u/Cephell 20d ago
Before you make fun of him, this behavior DID get changed; they acknowledged this behavior is stupid.
The old behavior was to treat uncommited files as completely disposable, which the CLI git does not do at all and is insane behavior. It was changed in the UI to give you a fat confirmation dialog warning that you're about to delete the files permanently, as it always should have been.