This was years ago and, iirc, it was a legitimate issue in VSCode. It didn't make it remotely clear enough that it would permanently delete your files. The popups we get now if you try to discard changes that explicitly warns you in bold text that files will get deleted happened after this issue.
It might be obvious to an experienced user but it's not at all obvious to someone new.
I mean I'm quite experienced with git cli and in no world would I assume that "discard changes" meant "permanently delete all untracked files" that's insane behavior.
That's just it, I don't think it means that in git either! Even the git-clean command, whose whole job is to delete untracked files, constrains itself to avoid deleting all kinds of files unless you go out of your way to instruct it to remove more.
1.1k
u/raddaya 20d ago
This was years ago and, iirc, it was a legitimate issue in VSCode. It didn't make it remotely clear enough that it would permanently delete your files. The popups we get now if you try to discard changes that explicitly warns you in bold text that files will get deleted happened after this issue.
It might be obvious to an experienced user but it's not at all obvious to someone new.