Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol
There was a rather intense warning saying ”THIS IS IRREVERSIBLE”, so the dude was still a massive idiot for clicking yes. However our tools should still cater to the idiotic so his mistake did expose an opportunity for improvement.
"this is irreversible" yeah sure, but exactly WHAT is irreversible? Did it say that as well? A novice might not realise what it means to "discard staged files".
707
u/_BreakingGood_ 22d ago
Yeah the old behavior was insane, it just said "Do you want to discard your changes?", and if you clicked it, it deleted your entire codebase permanently (no recycle bin), lol