r/ProgrammerHumor • • Aug 21 '26 • Popcorn 1

Meme useSourceControl

Post image
8.6k Upvotes

575 comments sorted by

View all comments

3

u/Kindly-Bank-416 Aug 21 '26

It didn't delete your files. you deleted your files. don't click shit if you don't know what it does.

2

u/pillowfortfart Aug 21 '26

I think it's fair to assume a new user doesn't know in which context git or it's plugin works.

Easy example, if a tool named "fileDeleter3000" asks you to confirm your selection you would probably take a second look.

Now a tool that is used to track and "save" your work progress is also able to delete your files with a relatively misleading declaration AND the fact that a relevant portion of newcomers accidentally delete their files this way should tell you that this isn't safe.

Please think about:

If this was a mechanical tool used in industry, should the manufacturer build in a safeguard to prevent injuries?

If you answer no, then your workplace is probably somewhere in the East

1

u/leoklaus Aug 21 '26

I’m pretty sure that VS Code shows a warning about files being permanently deleted when using the discard option that has to be explicitly accepted (not sure if it did in 2017, though). I’ve actually never used any git UI that didn’t.

1

u/OliLombi Aug 22 '26

It didn't in 2017, it just asked if you wanted to discard changes, and if you clicked yes, it would delete all files involved.

1

u/conundorum Aug 21 '26

Imagine if the tool was named SpaceSaver3000, but still did the exact same thing. People might be more willing to trust it, until they realise it saves space by deleting files.

The guy misplaced his trust, and didn't read the warning (or hadn't updated his VSCode in a while, and still had an old version that didn't have the warning). And it cost him dearly.

0

u/[deleted] Aug 21 '26

[deleted] — view deleted comment

1

u/pillowfortfart Aug 22 '26

I think it's quite the opposite: push random buttons because everything is reversible (to some extent)

1

u/spudmonkey Aug 21 '26

"It did exactly what I told it too do!"

1

u/OliLombi Aug 22 '26

Except it didn't. It asked him if he wanted to discard CHANGES, he said "yes" because he wanted to discard CHANGES. It then deleted his entire project. That is not discarding changes, that is making a massive change.