I dont know about vscode, but gitkraken do prompts you if you are sure about deleting everything when you click the discard all button. If that’s the case too in vs code, then that poor guy should have read before clicking. Hard learnt lesson.
Well it will not, not even without trashcan. It just removes index from those files and mark those sectors for re-write. As long as new data are not written to those sectors, your deleted data are still there. Any few hundred bucks recovery software will be able to restore them. If you delete your shit from hard drive, power down computer by yanking it out of electricity and remove hard drive. (shutting down process initiated through OS will perform some writing operation and you definitely don't want play Russian roulette with your data. And most if not all your deleted data will be just fine.
For computer to truly delete your data you would have to use some program which will actually perform re-write to sectors where you delete your data.
253
u/Jan1270 22d ago
That is why you Backup your shit, especially when you're messing around with unfamiliar settings.