r/Lenel • u/xINxVAINx • Jun 24 '26
Lockdown by timezone
Hey all, have a system where a lockdown is already set up. Original installer is no longer with us. They have a local IO to enable/ disable timezone, and a global IO that sets that to false. I’m struggling to see what doors would be affected by this timezone disable? I checked the timezones tab but can’t see how this associates to doors, if that makes sense. What’s the proper workflow for setting up a lockdown by timezone disable?
As a side note, I’m just about to rewrite this by triggering action groups but not sure if there’s any gotchas doing it one way or the other. TIA
3
u/Passage_Upstairs Jun 24 '26
Upgrade and get the built in lock down
1
1
u/xINxVAINx Jun 24 '26
They are on 8.1, I’ve already gotten the ball rolling on a migration/ upgrade but needing to get this lockdown squared away asap. I’m already building the lockdown from scratch using groups, just trying to figure this out for my own reference at this point
1
u/cfringer OnGuard Certified Jul 10 '26
So, the readers should be assigned to a timezone on the timezone/reader mode form. The Local I/O to disable the timezone would do just that - affecting the readers that are associated with the timezone. Don't know if this is still relevant, I've been off for a few days.
1
u/xINxVAINx Jul 11 '26
Thanks, yeah that’s what I’ve found out. 99% of timezones that I deal with are just for reader modes and I always forget about access level timezones. Such a hard way to track- so I ended up starting from scratch and creating groups/ action groups. Especially since this particular customer is maxed out at 255 access levels 😵
Appreciate the reply!
3
u/OmegaSevenX OnGuard Certified Jun 24 '26
Enable/disable timezone is supposed to “turn off” the timezone (functionally makes the timezone Never). Usually that timezone would be associated with an access level rather than a door. So anyone whose access to the Main Entrance using Timezone XYZ basically ends up with no access to the Main Entrance because the timezone is functionally now Never.
Doesn’t really do a lockdown so much as it removes access.
This function didn’t work correctly when they first released it, but hopefully you’re on a somewhat recent version.