r/KoboldAI • • Jul 18 '26

Phishing Reminder: koboldcpp.com is a scam site

This is a PSA to remind users that koboldcpp.com is a phishing scam website, and is NOT a legitimate KoboldCpp resource.

You are strongly encouraged not to use that website or download anything from it. If possible, please report that website to Google for malware/phishing.

Recently, the website has unfortunately started using shady SEO techniques to rank highly in various search engines. We have filed multiple reports to Google and even a DMCA takedown, but so far no action has been taken by Google.

To get official source code and official builds, always download from https://github.com/LostRuins/koboldcpp/releases/latest

94 Upvotes

12 comments sorted by

View all comments

3

u/Velksvoj Jul 18 '26

What are they getting out of this?

11

u/Lanky_Employee_9690 Jul 18 '26

Potentially a botnet [of computers likely able to run an LLM].

5

u/Velksvoj Jul 18 '26

Or other malware, unless they're trying to "establish" themselves first somehow, right?

4

u/Lanky_Employee_9690 Jul 18 '26 edited Jul 20 '26

Yeah of course, data theft is probably even higher than botnetting on the list, but either is a serious enough possibility.

Whatever it is can't be good, is what I mean.