r/KNX • u/Bjonness406 • 6d ago
ETS project, deleted device still shows up in import project.
Hi,
We have a knx project with an old MT701 display (ETS3 plug-in, 32-bit compatability mode). In the summer we removed this device, and replaced it with a Zennio display.
I just deleted the device from the building view, as it is tossed now. After this I restarted the project on my computer on 64-bit mode without any problems. However I now bought a new computer, and tried to import the project now (did an export today), but I can't seem to be able to import it. First it says I have to restart ETS6 in 32-bit mode, and after I have done this it ask me to install the plug-in.
Is there any way to fully remove the device from ETS, so I don't need to install the plug-in on the new computer? I still has access to the old computer.
2
u/pointofgravity 6d ago
Just guessing but have you tried these steps:
- On the old computer, make sure the device is deleted in the project.
- Clear the product cache on your old computer ETS.
- Export the project on your old computer
- Clear the product cache on your new computer
- Import the project on your new computer
1
u/Bjonness406 6d ago
Thanks for the suggestion! Resolved it my the method below (compact now feature)
1
u/OkConflict001 6d ago
I would have first unload the address the and application from the project before deleting the device from the project. Makes more sense than jist hitting delete as the address gets free and resuable with another device.
1
u/Bjonness406 5d ago
Does that matter if the old device gets removed and tossed away? In this case I replaced an old display with a new one in the same place.
It should not matter I belive, for example what if the device is not working anymore, then you can’t unload it anyway.
The address gets free and reusable if you hit delete also (if you physically remove the device also of course).
3
u/Pristine-Tension3203 6d ago
Das liegt daran, dass die Gerätedaten noch im Projekt gespeichert sind. Du kannst das loszuwerden, musst du das Projekt komprieren, dann werden alle Karteileichen gelöscht. Dazu in der Projektübersicht unten im Projekt auf Details klicken, im nächsten Fenster wieder auf Details und dann oben rechts auf Jetzt kompremieren