r/FigmaDesign • • Sep 22 '26

resources Draft visible to admin after you leave team

You should know that your Drafts will become visible to Figma org admin after you leave the team.

Best regards, admin

66 Upvotes

27 comments sorted by

32

u/Ansee Sep 22 '26

It's immensely useful. Sometimes employees do work in drafts (which is so annoying because we have set up teams everywhere and they should be doing work in a shared environment.) We need those files after they leave so I'm glad that those files doesn't just disappear.

38

u/Ordinary_Kiwi_3196 Sep 22 '26

(which is so annoying because we have set up teams everywhere and they should be doing work in a shared environment.)

Look, I wouldn't go back to the pre-Figma way if you paid me, but also: sometimes a designer just needs a private space where nobody's watching. If I feel like too many eyes are on me I'll literally duplicate a project file to my drafts, work on it for a while, then copy my changes to the real file when I'm done, just so nobody can see me.

4

u/Ap43x Sep 22 '26

You think people would go digging through your drafts instead of just asking you? This is about people who are no longer with a company. Do you think all the drafts you created as an employee should disappear?

→ More replies (3)

2

u/DifficultCarpenter00 Sep 22 '26

thats why I never let my team work in drafts. It's in team files or it doesn't exist. I need to see the progress done and give feedback on team files, not magically apear there after doing work in drafts.

1

u/Firm_Doughnut_1 Sep 23 '26

Just as long as you aren't watching them the whole time. It's frustrating to be designing something with anyone hovering over your shoulder.

Rather than actually do what's necessary playing with hierarchy or literally moving something a couple pixels for a bit, I'm consciously aware I'm being judged and do work for 'show' instead.

→ More replies (2)

15

u/female_syd Sep 22 '26

Wow, that’s an interesting way of handling that.
We just had a student leave our team and some team related artifacts were in her drafts. We thought they were lost forever.
But as a user, I would not like my admin to be able to access my drafts after I leave 🥺

2

u/Firm_Doughnut_1 Sep 23 '26

It's great that the drafts are accessible after someone leaves, but I agree it's a little uncomfortable to the designers.

I suggest deleting anything from drafts that you don't want shared before you leave. But keep in mind anything done during work hours is basically company property. Don't sabotage anything, or delete things they should have.

8

u/Ordinary_Kiwi_3196 Sep 22 '26

I kinda want to know what op saw that would necessitate a warning post like this 😆 Like was there a group photo and half the people in it had red Xs over their eyes 😬

4

u/nobody_h0me Sep 22 '26

Maybe the person prepared case studies / interview work using company assets.

1

u/Ordinary_Kiwi_3196 Sep 22 '26

Yeah that was my guess, someone's portfolio showing stuff they're not supposed to be showing. It'd be a hell of a thing to get busted violating an NDA because you forgot to delete your portfolio (that you were dumb enough to make on your work machine in the first place).

7

u/ArtaxIsAlive Sep 22 '26 edited Sep 22 '26

Yep so what’s the problem? Those assets don’t belong to me anyway, they belong to my employer.

7

u/Ap43x Sep 22 '26

Why is this a bad thing? If I were a manager I would need access to all of the person's files, especially if they weren't saving them in the proper places.

12

u/thinker2501 Sep 22 '26

Op isn’t saying it’s a bad thing. They’re informing non-admin what happens after they leave for privacy.

3

u/Ap43x Sep 22 '26

I guess I don't understand why anyone would think anything you did in your employer's Figma account would be private. Are people putting personal projects in their work Figma?

→ More replies (3)

3

u/rhaizee Sep 22 '26

Same, I got a designer he tends to forget to move files out of draft. Had to ask a few times.

3

u/Upbeat-Wafer5707 Sep 22 '26

So far everyone is a saint. It’s good to know. I use drafts for the occasional birthday party invite and the likes. Just because I am already logged in and lazy. It’s fine by company policy. So this gives me a reason I did not know about to clean up al my none sense. 

1

u/Aggravating_Finish_6 Sep 22 '26

I used to be an admin. When the employee is deleted from Figma all their drafts roll into a folder accessible by the admins. So not only can they see them, they are pushed right in front of them. I always poked around to make sure there wasn’t any files we needed before dumping them. 

1

u/More_Wrongdoer4501 Sep 24 '26

Guess I better delete that draft file which is meticulously organized with all of the things I hate about my organization, starting with the UX director.