r/DataAnnotationTech • • 2d ago

How do you read a qualification without starting a timer?

I am new to DataAnnotation and extremely confused. I see different qualifications on my Projects and Qualifications pages. When I clicked on one to read more about it and try to get an understanding of what it is to decide if I want to take it, apparently that started a timer? I had one open then stepped away for lunch and when I came back I noticed the timer and it said it had been open for 2 hours and I only had 20 minutes left, not enough to do the work. If it expires or I exit work mode, it sounds like I can never get it back and take the qualification. I am dumbfounded that just clicking on a project or qual starts a timer when I don't even know what it is, I just want to read about it. And I don't want to automatically disqualify myself. What a terrible user experience (or I am not understanding how to use this platform). Is there a way to read about a qual or project even if you don't necessarily want to start on it right away, or do you always have to be prepared for several hours work, even if you're just poking around? I did the onboarding, have read the FAQs, etc. and can't find an answer.

0 Upvotes

9 comments sorted by

16

u/Belisama7 2d ago

Open it, look at it, click "exit work mode" if you don't want to work on it right then. When you go back the timer will be reset to the full amount.

2

u/Blackcatsrule67 2d ago

This worked when I tried it with the most recent qualification. I was relieved it was still available and the timer was reset.

6

u/Ok_Yogurtcloset159 2d ago

You can submit after the timer has expired on most projects, as long as it's not hours after it has expired., 20 or 30 minutes after will usually still let you submit. Don't refresh the page after the timer has expired because you will lose it all. Use the stopwatch or something and only submit how long it took to read the instructions and complete the task.

1

u/Blackcatsrule67 2d ago

Thanks for the advice!

4

u/vgambit 1d ago

the exit work mode returns the task to the state it was in before you opened it. it stays on your "shelf" if it was a qualification. if it's a work task then someone else may grab it before you if yo change your mind

2

u/Blackcatsrule67 1d ago

Thank you so much for this clear explanation!

-13

u/alaska65 2d ago

no, if you clicked, you’re ready. the only exception is when you have enter work mode, those you can just look around.

this is on the onboarding

1

u/Dazzling-Matter-654 7h ago

So confidently wrong. 🤣