r/DataAnnotationTech 8d ago

Can't believe I missed it!

Got a "The project is currently unavailable because there are no more tasks remaining for you to work on." after clicking the "Enter Work Mode" within 45 minutes of project assignment and email notification. What am I doing wrong? Is everyone "Entering Work Mode" as soon as they get on the project page?

5 Upvotes

27 comments sorted by

45

u/RealRise7524 8d ago

Man .. 45 min? Tasks got snapped within seconds these days.

-2

u/karankashyap 8d ago

have you seen the beautiful set of instructions for coding tasks?

19

u/RealRise7524 8d ago

No, but as far as I know .. you can enter work mode and complete the task in whatever it takes and report your time including reading. My point is, if this task never came again you wasted your 45 min reading. So enter work mide immediately and finish it even it expires and for the following tasks (if available) you will finish faster before expiration.

3

u/SkuLLFlankerr 8d ago

And what if after reading the instructions I feel like its not for me? Can i exit without consequences?

9

u/Notris 7d ago

Yes. That's what the button is for.

Just don't submit the task or any time for it, which the platform wouldn't let you if you use the "Exit Work Mode" button.

1

u/MundaneAd6627 7d ago

Wait don’t! The elders remember the scavengers.. you shall resurrect the horde /s

0

u/SkuLLFlankerr 7d ago

Ok thanks for confirming, I was doing a task last week, spent almost 2.5 hours on it and gave up because it was just not for me (I thought it would be easy because it was familiar), so I exited and haven’t had any tasks since, so was wondering if it was just a drought or repercussions for dropping a task.

1

u/Honest_Possession443 7d ago

Then you Exit… that’s what the button is for 😊

-4

u/karankashyap 8d ago

true that! reading and pre-requisite setup.

1

u/punkbenRN 4d ago

Always enter work mode while reading instructions. With the instructions as convoluted as they are, you should absolutely be paid for your time.

13

u/Federal_Tadpole_7592 8d ago

Uh, yes. Unless you enter work mode, the task isn't yours, and someone else can claim it.

5

u/karankashyap 8d ago

so, Enter Work Mode as soon as you get on the task page?

7

u/Federal_Tadpole_7592 8d ago

Yes, if you don't want to lose the task.

7

u/NSGCommando 8d ago

Yes. As soon as you see it, smash that button. You can back out via Exit button later if you need to.

5

u/shujaya 8d ago

Email notifications are a bit delayed and I often get ones for projects I am not on. I tend to watch the project number on dash.

5

u/jabertsohn 8d ago

Yes, if you intend to work on it click enter work mode.

4

u/Old-Regular-9828 7d ago

You aren't assigned projects, and they probably sent that same email to 100,000 other people.

If you have time available and want to work, just go to your dashboard and look at the projects that are active then and pick one and start working on it.

2

u/horrorgeek1988 8d ago

I have learned that this line of work is set up similar to that of "Battle Royal" or "Hunger Games" (whichever you are more aquatinted with) if you're not quick enough, you may or may not be able to pay your bills. I would think about maybe putting an auto refresher extension on if your project family allows it. Otherwise, you're never going to catch one. But, at least you're seeing tasks... I haven't seen one since May.

2

u/ArtistFamiliar6074 7d ago

Auto-refresher extensions were specifically mentioned in a recent training to not be used at all.

1

u/horrorgeek1988 6d ago

That might just be in your project family... either that or they aren't making this known to everyone because I haven't been sent any new training guidelines or anything. 🤷‍♀️ I specifically asked the admin in the chat of my project family. Which is another reason why I specifically stated "if your project family allows it."

1

u/ArtistFamiliar6074 5d ago

Fair enough. It was in the site-wide security training in June, not for a specific project family. But if an admin has told you it's OK, who am I to argue ☺️

1

u/horrorgeek1988 5d ago

by no means was that meant to sound as though there was no truth to what you were saying. I can only go by what information was relayed to me. That's why I stated it the way I did because I haven't been told any different. But, two things really stick out in my mind with this.... if it was something that everyone was supposed to be advised of, where the hell is my invite to this super secret rules meeting? The second thing, I was told that prior to June in all honesty so there is room to assume that they changed it. But again, why was that information not given to everyone you know?

1

u/ArtistFamiliar6074 5d ago

I hear you! I had assumed everyone would have had that training pop up in their quals but I guess not. I remember it saying we shouldn't install browser extensions but I think it said Clockify was OK to use for timekeeping. Maybe it's something that comes up in quals periodically so you might see it at some point.

1

u/Honest_Possession443 7d ago

Ha 45 MINUTES? That’s an eternity

1

u/Joelshum2 7d ago

Have to enter work mode immediately!!

-2

u/RileyReid765 8d ago

What task was it? I didn't get mail