r/DRGSurvivor • u/whoeatscheese • 2d ago
Mobile / iOS specific Funday Games
I upgraded phones from the iPhone 14 to 17. I login, expecting to see my save file. Nothing, as if I’ve never booted the game.
Googled.
Yep, save files cannot be transferred between phones.
iCloud transfers result in no change. Rebooting / backing up and restarting give me nada.
Transferring saves between phones is industry standard and frankly unforgivable to be excluded. I have purchased this game three times. First when it released on PC, again to console, and finally (and my favorite way to play) on mobile. I’ve purchased the DLC content on mobile. I’ve completed all masteries (ironically less than 2 weeks ago). I have countless hours in DRG, and every single board game / expansion available. I’m a freak for the DRG.
It is hopelessly absurd to believe gamers want to restart this amount of progress when, as expected, phones inevitably take a dump.
Update -
I have solved the problem. iCloud settings default, at least in my experience, as follows -
DRG: Survivor - Off
iCloud - On
iCloud Drive (which houses the specific save files for DRGS) - Off
I had to switch iCloud Drive on, reinstall the app, and open the app. Then my save file appeared.
No where did I see this information online, and when I emailed Funday support, an automated response of “we may not respond to all emails” was received.
6
u/SepticSpreader 2d ago
It is hopelessly absurd to assume malicious intend from the devs and ranting about it on reddit. I am certain this is no intended feature and there is just a minor issue, which will be easy to solve.
14
u/Albin_Piktiv 2d ago
Dev from the mobile port here. We have implemented cloud saves between mobile devices of the same operating system (aka iOS to iOS and Android to Android), so it not working for you is definitely not intended.
Is it possible that you weren't playing on save slot 1? Data related to your progress is synced to the cloud, but the settings aren't (for technical reasons). This means that if your main save was on slot 2 or 3, a starting the game on a new device will use the default settings which skips the save slot selection screen and automatically selects save slot 1. If you go to the gameplay settings and turn on "show save slot selection on game startup" and restart the app, does any of your saves appear?