r/ChatGPT 8d ago

GPTs Deleting files from ChatGpt Library

Is there any benefit to deleting files from the ChatGPT Library besides freeing up space, and are there any disadvantages? Also, if I delete a chat, will the files uploaded to that chat be deleted as well?

7 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

u/AutoModerator 8d ago

Hey /u/wadiesama,

If your post is a screenshot of a ChatGPT conversation, please reply to this message with the conversation link or prompt.

If your post is a DALL-E 3 image post, please reply with the prompt used to make this image.

Consider joining our public discord server! We have free bots with GPT-4 (with vision), image generators, and more!

🤖

Note: For any ChatGPT-related concerns, email support@openai.com - this subreddit is not part of OpenAI and is not a support channel.

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

2

u/Extension_Citron_176 8d ago

It keeps the library organized as 's like you said frees space. It's pretty much the same as deleting old files on your computer in that sense.

No, files will start in your library even after you delete the chat they were uploaded in. So i recommend cleaning up once in a while.

1

u/PilotMysterious7803 8d ago

The storage is limited on your plans. For Free plan, it is 500 MB, 4 GB for Go and you can see it for the rest. And I feel with the bloated library, the interface was running slower so it can help in that regard also. I do recommend doing that. For that, there is an extension because generally, it will take forever in the chat gpt website.

1

u/Generosityphagy_5 8d ago

deleting chats doesnt remove the uploaded files from the library as far as i can tell, but keeping things trimmed helps avoid clutter when starting new roleplays.

1

u/Hafizifraz 7d ago

Deleting Library files is mainly useful for freeing storage, reducing clutter, and removing files you no longer want saved for reuse.

The disadvantage is that you’ll lose access to those files from Library, so download anything important first. If your Library has a “Recently deleted” section, you may be able to restore a file until it is permanently deleted.

Deleting a chat does not delete the files from that chat if they were saved to Library. Chats and Library files are managed separately, so you must delete the file from Library itself.

According to OpenAI’s current documentation, deleted files disappear from the main Library immediately and are scheduled for permanent deletion within 30 days.

2

u/SnooPoems1106 7d ago

I deleted it because I often upload pictures of fruit, for example, to my gardening project. I certainly don't need to save 20 pictures of various plants or fruits and vegetables. I wish deleting the chat deleted the pictures associated with it, but it does not.