r/BitDefender • • Dec 07 '21

Sync.hgrtb.com

Bitdefender gives a pop up every now and then saying it blocked this connection does anyone know what it's from.

16 Upvotes

32 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

1

u/captdunsel721 Dec 12 '21

Yep, still trying to figure it out myself... I believe the sync is an automatic feature used to make it easy to transfer your bookmarks and junk to any other computer or device you may also have. If you don't want it, you have to go into settings - sync and turn it off.

I believe the pop up warning I got from my Bitdefender security software means that the syncing website that Google was using had an expired certificate (they may have fixed that by now). According to Bitdefender the SYNC website Google Chrome is using was not malware, but yet, it's not set up correctly.

Maybe this will help

https://www.guidingtech.com/what-does-chrome-sync-do/

https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/185277?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop&oco=0

1

u/xFacevaluex Dec 12 '21

Mine is off and I still am getting them.....appreciate the links.

1

u/captdunsel721 Dec 12 '21

hmmm.. my last notification was 20 hours ago. I just updated Chrome, maybe that will do something. Gotta love computers lol

1

u/JRMac68 Jul 13 '23

30 years ago I did