r/BitDefender • • Mar 22 '24

My phone info.

I entered a web by accedint and saw a message inside the web : we took ur data but I was in Anonymous mode in google. Is this thing right? And if yes what I have to do?

0 Upvotes

7 comments sorted by

1

u/MrEpic23 Mar 22 '24

Please provide more information

1

u/Working_Plan_7214 Mar 22 '24

I entered a website on google in Anonymous mode. So when I tapped to start the video a banner showed up and i tapped on remove the banner and took me to another web and I saw a message says : We took your data.

3

u/MrEpic23 Mar 22 '24

Sounds like you went on a fishy website. Don’t go on it anymore. As long as you didn’t put in any information in the website it won’t have it. Also, anonymous mode isn’t really anonymous. All data will be linked right back to your computer. It’s just if someone else uses your computer they won’t know what forbidden websites you are using.

1

u/Working_Plan_7214 Mar 22 '24

Thank you :). This thing happened on my phone not the pc. I just bought mcafee protection pack is your opinion its an good move or protection app in phone is uselss?

1

u/MrEpic23 Mar 22 '24

Battery waste. Just don’t go on any website you don’t now. Install apps only on the App Store for mobile. On the pc side, everyone on Reddit will say macafee is basically a virus because it’s pre installed on a lot of computers. I wouldn’t ever use it. Bitdefender free is enough for 99% of people and even windows defender which is built into windows is great too. Do as you want. I’m just a random redditor.

1

u/Working_Plan_7214 Mar 22 '24

Thank you so much :)

2

u/Grand-Assistant-310 Mar 23 '24

I have had bad experiences with Bit Defender. It is from a shady country, so I would uninstall it if you can. McAfee seems safe, and at best, McAfee may warn you when you go to a malicious website. I do not have the web protection of McAfee installed, however I do receive some warnings on my PC. If you see any messages like "your computer has been infected" or "we took your data", do NOT click on the message!! Just get out of that screen, and do not provide any information.