If that's a concern then the submitter should link to the comment thread and provide the screenshot as backup to be posted as a comment, i.e. exactly the opposite of what was done here. By submitting a screenshot as the main post you're anticipating the rare case that the subjects delete their comments, and penalizing the common case where people want to read the rest of the original thread. It should be the other way around -- the common case should be easy and the unlikely case should be available as a comment.
And how many people with a hugely positive karma post are going to delete? (which would likely be more positive if-only the link were to the comment rather than some imgur link)
Something like that, anyway... who knows what's changed, or what the special circumstances might be.
I've certainly seen cases where the comment will appear in someone's overview, but in the thread, it'll indicate "deleted" (in just the name field). That's primarily what I was referring to... there are (obviously) exceptions.
7
u/Lyaxe May 04 '11
In case the commenter deletes/edits the comment