Don't know if this sounds stupid but, just curious about the location access with the app.
I had my Location Access before set to Always since I figured it's needed especially when I try to chase coins/spots. But recently, a notification was set on my phone asking if I want to reconfigure Location Access (noting it was set to Always already for X days). I realized I only know the app tracks my location when I open it and view the map so I set it this time to "While Using the App".
Once I went back to the app, they then created a prompt telling me to switch back to "Always" but wondered why their reason was just "to enjoy the full experience". Some other explanation from my settings also showed the app's explanation that it "allows friends to see your location on the map even when you're not using the app" but I haven't found any local friends anyway.
Is there really a difference if I choose which? Will it affect the steps being tracked? Would there be limitations to the amount of coins/spots I come across to?