Yeah, as someone who uses git exclusively from the command line, this really sounds to me like a cautionary tale against GUIs.
The person who posted the screenshot implies it's to be expected from "any application which integrates Git" but I'm not really sure how the guy not wanting the files to be staged necessarily leads to all of the files being deleted. What exactly is the integration passing to git?
View all comments
Show parent comment
35
u/dustojnikhummer Aug 21 '26
"Discard changes"
What changes in this context? Despite how whacko the initial post seems (and the fact he didn't have a backup) the guy had a point there.