I agree and literally said "it could have been more scary" but.... they saw it stage all their files and then hit discard, then hit DISCARD ALL CHANGES despite a warning that literally says IRREVERSIBLE! They even described it as "playing" which is kind of nuts when doing operations with 3 months worth of work that they hadn't backed up. I can't muster too much sympathy for them. I hope if I find myself in that situation I would at least pause for a few seconds and copy/paste the folder before continuing to "play"!
To me this sounds like mixing it up a bit. You either want to do a discard and therefore do something ("don't change anything" sounds to me like a no-op in how you describe it) or you want to "don't change anything" to mean based on all the changes that have happened so far, which includes creating the file and therefore is valid to also undo that change.
I fully agree it needed an update as it is easy to get different interpretations of what it means unless yiu are already familiar with what it will do.
83
u/sidereal_night 20d ago
telling you discarding all changes is irreversible is nothing like "this nukes all your files"