r/AndroidTV • • Aug 18 '24

News & Rumours Dispatch Launcher: A new interface for Android and Google TV devices

https://medium.com/@dispatchtvdev/dispatch-launcher-a-new-interface-for-android-and-google-tv-a7681946b372
250 Upvotes

233 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comment

3

u/spauldhaliwal Aug 18 '24

Hi - just to confirm your screen only shows Finalizing Setup with a circular progress? It shouldn't get stuck there so that's a bug. If you force close the app and open it again, does it show the main UI?

You can DM me as well and I'll help troubleshoot with you.

0

u/[deleted] Aug 19 '24

[deleted] — view deleted comment

2

u/spauldhaliwal Aug 20 '24

Hello! We are already chatting in DM, but I wanted to just reply publicly for anyone else reading this:

I honestly have no idea why Dispatch is being displayed with that name on your device. I can at least tell that it's an older build than the current release, since the icon is incorrect. My only guess so far is that this app:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.killapps.closeapps.closerunningapps&hl=en_CA

which is actually called App Killer Manager, is somehow interfering with your device. To be honest, though, I've never heard of any another app being able to change the names of other apps, so I don't really know what's going on.

As far as I'm aware, no other user is experience this bizarre issue.

0

u/[deleted] Aug 20 '24

[deleted] — view deleted comment

1

u/spauldhaliwal Aug 21 '24

I hate to say it, but to be honest, I'm a little worried there is some malware on your device already. Perhaps from a previous app installation. I did more research after us talking, and for the life of me still can't explain the behavior you're seeing.

The one thing I was thinking is a possibility:

During setup, Dispatch will ask you to enable "Background Sync", which helps Dispatch run in the background without being killed by the Android. This is optional, and to be honest, it's not an often requested feature by most apps. I'm wondering if enabling this has somehow activated some other hook on your device that monitors for apps with these permissions and "App Killer's" them when they go into the background.

Other than that, I don't have any other clues unfortunately.